Mrs. ‘Arris Goes To Paris by Paul Gallico

Photo of the book \" width=I picked this novel first because the title made it sound easy to read. It was. This book is a simple souped up parable from the British 1950s. Mrs. Harris, a elderly cleaning lady who talks like Eliza Doolittle in My Fair Lady, discovers how far she is willing to go to get something she desperately wants. We root for her. The narrator shows her foibles and fortes. He teaches us a lesson: Look how heroic “insignificant” people are. Look at the drama and worth of the lives we never see on TV. And realize the high value of human friendships.

Next review

8 thoughts on “Mrs. ‘Arris Goes To Paris by Paul Gallico

  1. I figure it’d take at least 20 years to read them all. Maybe I will. A lot can change in just a few years.

    But I’d like to try them all. I’ve tried some of the books on the list and put them down cause I just didn’t like them at all. So, I don’t think I’ll force myself to read those! šŸ™‚

  2. I love the title of your blog – what a great idea. I’m far to wordy for that though. šŸ™‚ This book is already on my list for the 1% Well Read Challenge, but yours is the first review I’ve ever seen. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Enter your May/June reviews here : 1% Well-Read Challenge

  4. I recently read this book–my review is up on my website somewhere. Good luck with the Umberto Eco–its an excellent book. I read it many years ago, so I might have to refresh my mind with a re-read.

Leave a comment